Prophecy & the Fall Feasts

   ((“The 10 Days of Awe – an Introduction”))
 – Part III of V in a series

In case I didn’t mention it (which I didn’t – it’s been a little heavy around here the past few days or so)…

We have – since Rosh Ha’Shana, been in another countdown.  The fall feasts don’t stop – they just move seamlessly from one into another.  It’s the same thing in with the spring feasts – you go directly from Passover into Unleavened Bread and then Firstfruits, and tying them to Shavouth/Pentecost is the Counting of the Omer.  Well, we’re doing the same sort of thing here… we go from the 30-day countdown called Elul into Rosh Ha’Shana… and the ten days from Rosh Ha’Shana to Yom Kippur are special, too – they’re known as the Ten Days of Awe.  Directly after Yom Kippur begins the building of the family sukkot, which leads up to Sukkoth.  Another progression from one to another, seamlessly.

Yom Kippur being Tuesday night thru Wednesday night this next week, that means we’re on day six of ten… in the Days of Awe.  Right now!  Four days left of the countdown.  I should go back and mark it under my blogs.  ((Maybe I will!  LoL!!))

Ah, but I know what you’re thinking:  what are the Ten Days of Awe?  I’ve alluded to these before (it’s kind of a tack-on to my Yom Kippur post on the sidebar).  But I wanted to take another look at them.  And in wanting to take another look at them a few days ago, I ended up with a blog SERIES that I wasn’t anticipating.  But I couldn’t move into the Days of Awe without addressing the non-rapture of Rosh Ha’Shana, and what it meant… and what the options are.  Now that we’ve done that, we can move ahead.

So here’s what I posted in 2003 from JewFAQ.org about the Ten Days of Awe:

The ten days starting with Rosh Hashanah and ending with Yom Kippur are commonly known as the Days of Awe (Yamim Noraim) or the Days of Repentance. This is a time for serious introspection, a time to consider sins and repent before Yom Kippur.

One of the ongoing themes of the Days of Awe is the concept that G-d has “books” that He writes our names in, writing down who will live and who will die… these books are written in on Rosh Hashanah, but our actions during the Days of Awe can alter G-d’s decree. These “books” are sealed on Yom Kippur.

In re-reading this… it sounded, erm, confusing to me.  I thought that ELUL was the period of repentance, introspection, and preparation – for Rosh Ha’Shana.  Now we have ANOTHER period of repentance, introspection, and preparation – for Yom Kippur?  Why?  It seems like a repetition of what we’ve already done, doesn’t it?

“Celebrating the Biblical Feasts” (M. Zimmerman) says this:

Yom Kippur… comes on the tenth day of Tishri.  It is the climax of the Ten Days of Repentance.  What was begun on Rosh Ha’Shana is about to be sealed.  “Prepare to meet your God, O Israel” (Amos 4:12)  This is the day the worshipper stands before [the throne]… bringing himself into harmony with God.

What I’m seeing here looks almost like this final period of repentance is allowed up to the Day of Judgment (Yom Kippur) for those who have not repented by the Feast of Trumpets (Rosh Ha’Shana).  It’s like the 9th inning – the final chance for redemption.  Once you hit the end of that period – The Day of Atonement, it’s sealed.  That’s it.  This was confirmed by my other ‘feast’ book.  In “God’s Appointed Days”(B. Kasdan), it says:

Yom Kippur has long been considered the most holy day of the Jewish Biblical calendar… for it was on this day… that the High Priest would enter into the Holy of Holies to make atonement for the nation.  …Yom Kippur is considered the logical extension of what was started on Rosh Ha’Shana.  …Services last most of the day for it is believed that judgment will come at the close of Yom Kippur.

They both said the same thing – that what was STARTED on Rosh Ha’Shana HAPPENS on Yom Kippur.  But MORE than that – it’s the day the Book of Life is sealed up – no more names added! – and Messiah judges His own.

Now, I always thought that Rosh Ha’Shana was the rapture (saints going up) and that Yom Kippur was judgment day at a later time (ie., after Armegeddon) for the rest of the people (non-raptured folk), and that Sukkot was the millineum… eternity with God.  But I screwed up.  I didn’t get it wrong, per se, but I ‘mixed’ fulfillments.  Here, I’ll show you.

Remember yesterday’s ‘chart’?  Well, it wasn’t really a chart, but I turned it into one with the help of my friend, V (we had an ENORMOUS conversation about yesterday’s post in Xanga Messages… iron really sharpened iron, lemme tell ya!).  Here’s the chart I made – it’s got all the scripture to back it up, too.  I’ll leave it so it can be enlarged for you, since it’s impossible to read at this size:

(click chart to enlarge)

Please remember that I’m not just plugging these events into whatever slot I feel like – these things, by either scripture or Jewish tradition (sometimes BOTH!) happened ON THESE DAYS!  And yes, I’m still missing one.  I’m wondering if there isn’t a ‘cycle’ in the Rosh Ha’Shana column… from ‘creation’ to ‘destruction’… it seems to me that the possible missing one is ‘depravity’, but I don’t know for certain, and haven’t found it, yet.

But as I was putting the chart together, I noticed there was a pattern to it that just FIT what all the books (and scripture) presented – and that’s that things don’t HAPPEN on Rosh Ha’Shana… not on *our* plane of existence, anyhow.  So here I am, going CRAZY trying to figure out every year why nothing ‘happens’, when nothing is supposed to happen!  Not that we can mark/see, anyhow.  That’s not the way precedence has it set.

Further, the view I had (RH as rapture, YK as Judgment Day years later, and Sukkot as Millineum) neglected the pattern… it wasn’t a WRONG view, it just pulled stuff from different columns and tried to make it work.  The problem with that is that the continuum was missing.  The three feasts  – when a fulfillment happens – function together, back-to-back, seamlessly.  Just like Yeshua’s death (Passover), burial (Unleavened Bread), and resurrection (Firstfruits) all happened in a row, same year.  I was jumping years… which meant MORE THAN ONE fulfillment.  Seven, to be precise!

Once my friend V and I plugged the facts into a chart, we saw that there are TWO FULFILLMENTS of the fall feasts yet to come, not just one (as I thought).  They are:

  1. Reaping set in motion –> Judgment seat of Christ/rapture –>
    Fellowship w/God in Heaven –> restoration of incorruptible man          
  2. Destruction set in motion –> Judgment at Great White Throne –>
    Fellowship w/God in New Heaven –> Creation of New Earth

So this Rosh Ha’Shana, I was watching for the rapture, and when it didn’t come, went to move into the Ten Days of Awe, and found myself in the same process as Elul, only for ten days instead of thirty.  And it didn’t make sense!  Why would we have a period of repentance leading up to Rosh Ha’Shana, then a period of repentance leading up to Yom Kippur?  Because (as already said above), this is the ninth inning.  It’s the last call.  It’s the final week before something DOES happen.  So is the rapture on Rosh Ha’Shana?  I’m not so sure anymore.  In fact, I’m leaning towards a solid ‘NO’.  ((Hindsight is 20/20, ain’t it?))

Elul is a period of national repentance for Israel, but the Ten Days of Awe are a period of personal repentance for the individual.  It’s deeper, more serious, more somber.  Maybe that’s why I’m posting this series, digging so, so, SO, SOOO deeply right now?  Can’t be sure, but that’d be my wager.  I’m becoming convinced that these ten days are very symbolic, very important – moreso than Elul, even.  Elul was the time I got my ‘house’ in order – my world… finances, relationships with others, finished projects, etc.  But the Ten Days of Awe see me getting my heart and faith in order.  It’s inner preparation – far more weighty than what occurred during Elul!

And that’s just the FIRST layer of meaning behind the Ten Days of Awe.  I thought this series would be three parts long, but it seems I need a little more time to cover this thoroughly.  And it’s important enough to me to set everything else aside and see this through.  So there’ll be more tomorrow…

SIX DAYS of AWE!!!
Previous Post
Next Post
Comments are closed.
